Skip to main content

National Teaching Fellows

The National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) Scheme celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. Meet the National Teaching Fellows below.
NTFs 2018

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme

Find out more about NTFS, now in its 21th year with over 900 National Teaching Fellows.
Read More

National Teaching Fellows

Image of Stuart Allan
Job Title:Director of Online Learning (Heriot-Watt Online)
Institution: Heriot-Watt University
Year: 2021
Stuart Allan leads the design and development of fully online programmes at Heriot-Watt Online. Previously, Stuart led the transformation of the MBA programme at Heriot-Watt University’s business school, establishing a new approach to online pedagogy. He is also a PhD student at the University of Edinburgh’s Centre for Research in Digital Education.
Image of Professor Liz Bacon
Job Title:Deputy Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Institution: Abertay University
Year: 2021
Professor Liz Bacon is Deputy Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Abertay University. Her initiatives have transformed the student experience resulting in top National Student Survey (NSS) scores, enhanced retention and graduate employment outcomes. Her application of technology, including in her research, is driving change across the world and leading digital transformation at Abertay.
Image of Dr Steve Cayzer
Job Title:Senior Lecturer
Institution: University of Bath
Year: 2021
Dr Steve Cayzer’s goal is high value inclusive peer learning at scale. His chosen strategies include Team Based Learning and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Through his teaching, mentoring, training and policy work he delivers transformative education, currently focused on a holistic, impactful response to the climate emergency.
Image of Mark Childs
Job Title:Senior Learning Designer
Institution: Durham University
Year: 2021
Mark has worked in Higher Educaton (HE) for 25 years. Throughout, his focus has been on the learner experience; particularly how to make distance learning more engaging. Now a Senior Learning Designer at Durham University, he continues to advocate for a more inclusive, participative and above all, fun approach to learning online.
Image of Dr Andy Clegg
Job Title:Senior Lecturer in Higher Education and Professional Development Lead
Institution: University of Portsmouth
Year: 2021
Dr Andy Clegg has a demonstrable track record of leading strategic change and delivering real enhancement to learning and teaching through innovative approaches to curriculum design and the creation of safe, aspirational spaces for engagement, collaboration, self-discovery and personal reflection, where staff can enhance their confidence, self-efficacy and pedagogic competencies.
Image of Dr Alex Conner
Job Title:Reader in Biomedical Science Communication
Institution: University of Birmingham
Year: 2021
Alex’s Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) diagnosis and a lot of failing required him to understand what he COULD do. He used coaching to author his own success within the overall goals of the University. Alex now embeds non-directive coaching into education to support learners and colleagues in developing their own definition of success.
Dr Emily McIntosh
Job Title:Director of Learning, Teaching and Student Experience
Institution: Middlesex University
Year: 2021
Dr Emily McIntosh is a passionate advocate of early intervention and transitional support, peer learning, learning development, and academic advising as key components of student success. These are evidenced in the six pillars of her Early Intervention and Transitional Support (EI) Model, the basis of her National Teaching Fellowship claim.
Image of Meleisa Ono-George
Job Title:Associate Professor
Institution: University of Warwick
Year: 2021
Dr Meleisa Ono-George is an expert in anti-racist pedagogy and inclusive teaching practice. Embedding both in order to support more positive outcomes and experience for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) students in Higher Education. She is Associate Professor and Director of Student Experience in the Department of History at the University of Warwick.
Image of Vic Pearson
Job Title:Senior Lecturer
Institution: The Open University
Year: 2021
Vic Pearson is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Physical Sciences at The Open University. She is an advocate for developing ways to ensure that students, including those with disabilities or in prison, are able to study in ways that work for them, regardless of their circumstance.
Image of Gilmar Queiros
Job Title:Head of Skills & Apprenticeships
Institution: University of Hertfordshire
Year: 2021
Gilmar Queiros is the Head of Skills and Apprenticeships at the University of Hertfordshire. Gilmar has worked with a number of universities in the UK, supporting the development of apprenticeships and work-based learning (WBL). He is passionate about powering talent through WBL and a key supporter of this agenda, nationally.
Image of Jean Rankin
Job Title:Professor of Midwifery
Institution: University of the West of Scotland
Year: 2021
Professor Jean Rankin’s achievement in midwifery education has been to significantly reduce the theory practice gap through the use of meaningful learning, teaching and assessments. This change in more contemporary pedagogical approaches was necessary to more accurately reflect the knowledge and skills midwives need to underpin their practice-based profession.
Image of Julia Reeve
Job Title:Digital Partner and Teacher Fellow
Institution: De Montfort University
Year: 2021
Julia works across disciplines, building confidence and creative thinking via imaginative, multisensory learning including LEGO® Serious Play®, collage and drawing. Her fashion design background informs her teaching philosophy, she combines a constructionist ‘Thinking with the hands’ approach with compassionate pedagogy to develop reflexivity and embed mental wellbeing.