Skip to main content

2019 teaching excellence award winners unveiled

05 Aug 2019 | Advance HE Fifty-four new National Teaching Fellows and 15 winning teams in the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence are announced by Advance HE today (5 August).

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) and the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) showcase the outstanding impact of individuals and teams who teach or support learning in UK higher education, recognising their success and providing a platform to share the learning from their practice

Alison Johns, Advance HE’s chief executive, said, “Congratulations to all our 2019 winners of these two prestigious, national awards.

“Becoming a National Teaching Fellow or winning CATE team is a huge achievement. It can be truly life-changing. Creating ambassadors for innovative and impactful teaching who are valued by institutions and colleagues, and who can set in motion change and enhancements to make a really positive impact on student experience and outcomes across their institution and beyond.

“Advance HE looks forward to working with the winners to help to disseminate their work for the benefit of all.”

Dr Ben Calvert, Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of South Wales and Chair of the 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards Advisory Panel, said, “These awards really are the pinnacle of reward and recognition in teaching and learning.

“The 2019 winners are rightly proud of their achievements and I am sure they will continue to share their knowledge as individuals and teams so that their institutions, colleagues and the wider higher education sector can benefit from their expertise.”

Winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony on 16 October in Manchester.

2019 CATE winners:

Project TIGERS
Birmingham City University

Digital Assessment@Brunel
Brunel University London

Bucks Academic Enhancement Team
Buckinghamshire New University

Students as Colleagues
Edinburgh Napier University

PEETS - Promoting Excellence in Employability and Transversal Skills
Glasgow Caledonian University

Paramedic Team
Liverpool John Moores University

Open Education in Eye Health
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Middlesex Computer Science
Middlesex University

Using student engagement data to drive pedagogic innovation
Newman University Birmingham

The Student Engagement Team
Nottingham Trent University

The University of Sunderland’s Crime awareness student film projects, in collaboration with Northumbria Police and its Sexual Assault Referral Centre
The University of Sunderland

University of Bradford Physiotherapy Team
University of Bradford

Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Team
University of Bristol

Science Foundation Year
University of Lincoln

Central Foundation Years
University of Sussex

Read more about the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence including winning team profiles.

2019 National Teaching Fellows:

Farrukh Akhtar         
Kingston University

Professor Kamran Ali          
University of Plymouth

Professor Jo Angouri         
University of Warwick

Dr Richard Ayres     
University of Plymouth

Amy Barlow  
University of Portsmouth

Gemma Barton         
University of Brighton

Professor Lucy Berthoud   
University of Bristol

Dr Rachel Bolton-King        
Staffordshire University

Dr Scott Border        
University of Southampton

Dr Jacqueline Brodie          
Edinburgh Napier Business School

Dr Rachael Carkett  
University of Bath

Paul Chesterton       
Teesside University

Anna Coonan-Byrom          
University of Central Lancashire

Dr Jane Creaton       
University of Portsmouth

Dr Duncan Cross     
University of Bolton

Professor Sally Curtis         
University of Southampton

Dr Philip Denton      
Liverpool John Moores University

Dr Yota Dimitriadi    
University of Reading

Dr Liz Doherty          
Ulster University

Professor Maralyn Druce    
Queen Mary University of London

Dr Lee Fawcett         
Newcastle University

Dr Lindsey Ferrie     
Newcastle University

Professor Gabrielle Finn     
University of York

Professor Andrew Fisher    
University of Nottingham

Sarah Flynn  
University of Hertfordshire

Dr Alison Greig        
Anglia Ruskin University

Professor Catherine Hobbs
University of the West of England, Bristol

Dr Katharine Hubbard         
University of Hull

Dr Julie Hyde
University of Sheffield

Dr Harriet Jones
University of East Anglia

Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova     
University of Reading

Dr Samia Kamal       
Oxford Brookes University

Dr Richard Lewis     
Cardiff University

Professor Katherine Linehan         
University of Sheffield

Professor Colin Macdougall           
University of Warwick

Professor Heather McQueen          
University of Edinburgh

Professor Graham Meikle   
University of Westminster

Leisa Nichols-Drew 
De Montfort University

Dr Malachy Ó Néill   
Ulster University

Justin O’Brien          
Royal Holloway University of London

Daron Oram  
The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Professor Richard Owen    
Swansea University

Dr Clive Palmer        
University of Central Lancashire

Dr Mike Seal 
Newman University Birmingham

Dr Gita Sedghi          
University of Liverpool

Fiona Shelton           
University of Derby

Andrew Sturrock     
University of Sunderland

Dr Adam Taylor        
Lancaster University

Professor Colin Turner       
Ulster University

Dr Helen Webster     
Newcastle University

Dr Jane White           
University of Bath

Professor Richard Wilding 
Cranfield University

Dr Robert Wilson     
Cardiff University

Dr Gary Wood          
The University of Sheffield

Read more about the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme including winner profiles.



We feel it is important for voices to be heard to stimulate debate and share good practice. Blogs on our website are the views of the author and don’t necessarily represent those of Advance HE.

Keep up to date - Sign up to Advance HE communications

Our monthly newsletter contains the latest news from Advance HE, updates from around the sector, links to articles sharing knowledge and best practice and information on our services and upcoming events. Don't miss out, sign up to our newsletter now.

Sign up to our enewsletter