Skip to main content

Advance HE announces the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Awards and Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence winners

30 Aug 2018 | Advance HE Fifty-four new National Teaching Fellows are announced by Advance HE today, alongside the fifteen winning teams in the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education.

The Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) recognises and rewards collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning.  This year, up to six of the 15 winning teams will receive an additional ‘Spotlight Award’ which highlights particular aspects of collaborative practice or the outcomes of collaborations from which the broader HE sector can benefit. The ‘Spotlight Awards’ will be announced at the NTFS and CATE awards ceremony which will be held later this year.

Institutions in Scotland nominated entries for the schemes for the first time this year, and five academics were awarded National Teaching Fellowships. (The list of new NTFs and CATE winners is below.)

Alison Johns, Advance HE’s chief executive, said, “The award of a National Teaching Fellowship is an outstanding achievement and I know that the whole sector will join me in congratulating the 54 new NTFs as well as the CATE winners.”

“Advance HE is very proud to run these awards on behalf of the sector. A key part of our role in this programme is to work with both NTFs and CATE winners to show-case their work so that others can learn and benefit from their success.”

Prof Stephen May, Senior Vice Principal at the Royal Veterinary College and Chair of the UK Teaching Awards Panel, said, “The panel was delighted to see even greater participation in awards this year, with a 40% increase across both sets of awards. The process to identify NTFs and CATE winners is a rigorous one which now includes the training and selection of reviewers. NTFs and CATE winners richly deserve these awards and the sector is rightly proud of them.”

2018 National Teaching Fellows:

Mrs Jennifer Blake The University of Manchester

Ms Michelle O'Reilly Edinburgh Napier University

Ms Gill Foster London South Bank University

Professor Caroline Bowsher The University of Manchester

Professor Patrick Callaghan London South Bank University

Ms Sally Pearse Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Gwen Van der Velden University of Warwick

Ass. Prof. Alison Baverstock Kingston University

Dr Stefan Rossbach University of Kent

Dr Russell Crawford Keele University

Dr Tom Harrison University of Birmingham

Professor Jane Setter University of Reading

Miss Haleh Moravej Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr Alexandra Forsythe  University of Liverpool

Ms Andrea Cameron Abertay University

Dr Kyriaki Anagnostopoulou Bath Spa University

Dr Claire Smith University of Brighton

Ms Emmajane Milton Cardiff University

Dr Lydia Arnold Harper Adams University

Dr Jo Rushworth De Montfort University

Mrs Sandra Denicke-Polcher London Metropolitan University

Professor Gerry Gormley Queen's University Belfast

Dr Celia Jenkins University of Westminster

Professor Andrew Parsons University of York

Mr Anthony Burke University of Westminster

Mr Matt Johnston Coventry University

Dr Kay Guccione University of Sheffield

Miss Beth Pickard University of South Wales

Ms Ester Ragonese Liverpool John Moores University

Mr Andrew Kirk Edge Hill University

Dr Victoria Jolliffe Queen Mary University of London

Professor Mark Huxham Edinburgh Napier University

Dr Stephen Dance London South Bank University

Professor Martin James Solent University

Dr Richard Windle University of Nottingham

Dr Alison Megeney Middlesex University

Professor Melanie Giles Ulster University

Dr Lezley-Anne Hanna Queen's University Belfast

Dr Regina Pauli University of Roehampton

Mrs Paula Shaw University of Derby

Dr James Field University of Sheffield

Professor Marcus Leaning University of Winchester

Dr Karen Heard-Laureote University of Portsmouth

Dr. Jennifer Marie University College London

Dr John Bostock Edge Hill University

Mrs Barbara Nicolls Buckinghamshire New University

Professor Joy Porter University of Hull

Dr Andrew Pye University of Exeter

Dr Susan Way Bournemouth University

Dr Catriona Bell University of Edinburgh

Dr Greta Bosch University of Exeter

Dr Selina Busby Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Dr Ruth Watkins University of Stirling

Dr Richard Woolley University of Worcester


2018 CATE winners:

University of Brighton

University of Southampton

University of Sunderland

De Montfort University

University of Chester

University of South Wales

Manchester Metropolitan University

University of Nottingham

University of Salford

University of York

London South Bank University

Imperial College London

Liverpool Hope University

Birmingham City University

UWE Bristol

The NTF and CATE schemes are open to all higher education providers in the UK.

There are now more than 860 NTFs. Institutions may nominate up to three individuals per annum.  The schemes are open to all staff whose teaching or support roles enhance the student learning experience. The NTF and CATE schemes will run again in 2019; details will follow in due course.

More information on the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme and full profiles of the 2018 winners can be found here

Further information and full profiles of the winners of the Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence can be found here.

We feel it is important for voices to be heard to stimulate debate and share good practice. Blogs on our website are the views of the author and don’t necessarily represent those of Advance HE.

Keep up to date - Sign up to Advance HE communications

Our monthly newsletter contains the latest news from Advance HE, updates from around the sector, links to articles sharing knowledge and best practice and information on our services and upcoming events. Don't miss out, sign up to our newsletter now.

Sign up to our enewsletter