Skip to main content
Woman lecturer teaching class

Professional Standards Framework Review

The Professional Standards Framework (PSF) has become a globally-recognised framework for benchmarking success within HE teaching and learning. Since it was last updated in 2011, the learning and teaching landscape within HE has changed considerably making a review necessary to ensure the framework continues to be relevant to higher education now and in the future. As custodians of the PSF, we committed to this review on behalf of the sector in our Strategy 2021-24.

The PSF review is sector-led, draws on a strong evidence base and features a broad consultative process. A new sector-led Steering Group oversees the review, which is being carried out by a Project Team of colleagues from across the sector, with Advance HE facilitating this work. Respecting both the global nature of higher education and the range of contexts within which the PSF is now recognised, the Steering Group and the Project Team have proportional international representation.

The project seeks to retain the strengths of the current framework, and in consultation with the sector, propose amendments which will build on its positive impact on learning, teaching and the student experience".

Kathryn Harrison-Graves, Advance HE Director of Membership and Accreditation

Whilst the PSF Review is underway we want to reassure colleagues that there will be no impact for those on their Fellowship journey, whether that be via an accredited programme or those who are writing a direct Fellowship application.

When the revised PSF is launched in January 2023 there will be a two-year transition period so colleagues in Advance HE’s accreditation team can work with institutions to support this transition.

Take part

Following the analysis of an extensive evidence base and the first phase of the consultation, a draft revised PSF is now available and the broad sector-wide consultation on the draft is now live.

Comment on the draft revised PSF

Your views on the draft revised PSF are really valued, thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey and contributing to the PSF Review.

  • The draft revised PSF can be found here.
  • Please comment on the draft PSF via an online survey which is now open, here. If helpful, a PDF version of the survey can be found, here. Please be aware that feedback to this phase of the consultation can only be received via this online survey.
  • If you would like to refer back to the PSF 2011 you can find it here.

The deadline for completion of the survey is 17 July 2022.

PSF Review Timeline 

PSF Review timeline

Extensive stakeholder consultation has always been a core characteristic of the PSF Review.  For Advance HE, the Steering Group and the Project Team, ensuring the review process is fully inclusive is a primary objective.

As the consultation has progressed it has become evident that a further phase of consultation and engagement would be beneficial before the launch of the revised PSF. The review timeline has been adjusted with this taking place in October – November, and the revised PSF now launching in January 2023.

It is recognised that this slight delay to the publication of the revised PSF, from November 2022 to January 2023, may not be seen as ideal but it is felt essential to ensure that the revised PSF continues to have far-reaching, positive impact on learning and teaching practices.

Progressing the PSF Review - blog

In the following blog, the Project Team conducting the review of the UK Professional Standards Framework (PSF) provide an update on progress ahead of the launch of an online consultation on the draft revised PSF in mid-June.

Read the blog
3px purple line

Steering Group

Helen O'Sullivan
University of Chester

Helen O'Sullivan - Chair

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Read more
Alex Bols
GuildHE

Alex Bols

Deputy Chief Executive
Read more
Richard Bourne 450x450
York St John University

Professor Richard Bourne

Head of School of Humanities
Read more
Professor Abby Cathcart
Queensland University of Technology

Professor Abby Cathcart

Director, Academy of Learning and Teaching
Read more
Image of Julian Chaudhuri
University of Bath

Julian Chaudhuri

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Read more
Juliet Eve
University of Brighton

Juliet Eve

Head of Learning and Teaching Hub
Read more
Rowan Fisher
Universities UK

Rowan Fisher

Policy Researcher
Read more
Dr Letizia Gramaglia
Warwick International Higher Education Academy

Letizia Gramaglia

Director
Read more
Dr Sam Grogan
University of Salford

Sam Grogan

Pro Vice-Chancellor for Student Experience
Read more
Meegan Hall
Victoria University of Wellington

Meegan Hall

Associate Professor
Read more
Kathryn Harrison-Graves
Advance HE

Kathryn Harrison-Graves

Director of Membership and Accreditation
Read more
Headshot of Neil Henderson
University of West London

Neil Henderson

Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development
Read more
Professor Liz Johnson
Deakin University

Professor Liz Johnson

Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Read more
Professor Alastair Robertson
Glasgow Caledonian University

Alastair Robertson

Acting Pro Vice-Chancellor in Learning and Teaching
Read more
Professor Mark Schofield
Edge Hill University

Professor Mark Schofield

Dean of Teaching and Learning
Read more
3px purple line

Project Team

Mike Bryant
Monash University

Mike Bryant - Project Member

Director Education Enhancement
Read more
Sarah Floyd
Ulster University

Sarah Floyd - Project Member

Reader in Higher Education Practice
Read more
Duncan Jackson
University of York

Duncan Jackson - Project Member

Head of Academic Practice
Read more
Ola Olusanya
Aberystwyth University

Ola Olusanya - Project Member

Director of Learning and Teaching
Read more
3px purple line

FAQs

Why is the PSF being reviewed?

It is now over 10 years since the UK Professional Standards Framework (PSF, 2011) was last updated. During that time the learning and teaching landscape within HE has changed considerably and a review will ensure the framework continues to be relevant to higher education now and in the future. The sector-led review seeks to retain the strengths of the current framework, and in consultation with the global sector, to propose any updates to build on its positive impact on learning, teaching and the student experience. 

Who is leading the process?

Advance HE is facilitating the review and a sector-led Steering Group has been established to provide oversight to the review project. This Steering Group reports to Advance HE's Peer Review Quality Committee and the Advance HE Board. the review will be carried out by a Project Group of colleagues from across the sector.

Will this affect my Fellowship application/journey?

Whilst the PSF Review is underway we want to reassure you that there will be no impact on your Fellowship journey, whether that be via your institution’s accredited scheme or whether you are in the process of writing a direct Fellowship application.

The timeline of the project aims to launch a revised PSF in January 2023. We understand that any period of change might be unsettling for anyone in the process of applying for Fellowship and we can reassure you that we will be communicating about a suitable transition period for any changes to be introduced and we will ensure that you are kept informed and are suitably supported.

What impact will this have on our Advance HE accredited provision?

We understand that our accredited member institutions will be considering the impact that any revision to the framework will have on their accredited provision. Following the launch of the revised PSF in January 2023, a transition period of two years will be in place to support institutions to make any changes in a structured, planned way and at a pace to suit them. Advance HE will work with its member institutions to develop appropriate support and plans for existing accredited schemes and for those organisations in the process of seeking accreditation. We will provide more information around this as the review progresses but please do contact our accreditation team if you have any specific queries at this stage.

Will this affect my Fellowship status?

No – existing your Fellowship status will not be affected by the revised PSF. 

How can I give my view/opinions?

We will be using the existing evidence base and data sets, as well as undertaking some initial sector consultation to create a draft revised PSF. We are planning to undertake a sector-wide consultation on this in June 2022.

What is happening and when?

Please see this indicative timeline for the PSF Review. The project aims to launch the revised PSF in January 2023.