Skip to main content
Race Equality Charter header

Webinar series: Improving your institution's reputational profile

Useful resources, guidance and solutions to support institutions to improve their reputational profile including world rankings.

Advance HE will be delivering a series of webinars for our partners to provide insights and guidance with a key strategic challenge and opportunity: improving their reputational profile.

For a higher education institution (HEI), a good reputation, real or perceived, can enable it to gain a competitive advantage both domestically and internationally. Institutions are frequently differentiated based on their overall reputation but, often, by their specific strengths and specialisms. Institutional reputational profile can be based on a number of criteria such as academic reputation, student satisfaction and location.

During the webinar series, we will hear from those who have achieved recent success with improving their reputational profile, including through but not limited to, the Times Higher Education and QS World Rankings. We will provide you with free useful tools and resources, as well as ways in which you can engage with Advance HE.

Buff line

Feeding your quality and reputational development cycle

Becky Smith, Advance HE Global Associate discusses the importance of building your institution's reputational profile along with examples from across South East Asia and the Middle East.

Read the blog
leadership
Buff line

Webinar 1: Examples from South East Asia

5 October 2023

14:00 - 15:30 (UTC+7, ICT)

15:00 - 16:30 (UTC+8, MYT, SGT)

08:00 - 09:30 (UTC+1, BST)

Guest speaker: Dr Surin Maisrikrod, Vice-President for Global Engagement and Learning and Teaching, Walailak University

This webinar has taken place

Webinar 2: Examples from the Middle East

26 October 2023

15:00 - 16:30 (UTC+4, GTS)

14:00 - 15:30 (UTC+3, AST)

12:00 - 13:30 (UTC+1, BST)

Guest speaker: Professor Ghassan Aouad, Chancellor, Abu Dhabi University

This webinar has taken place

Webinar 3: Examples from Central Asia

23 November 2023

09:00 - 10:30 (UTC, GMT)

14:00 - 15:30 (UZT, UTC+5)

15:00 - 16:30 (ALMT, UTC+6)

Guest speaker: Professor Dorota Sylwia Majewicz, Ph.D, Deputy Chairman of the Social Sciences Department at the Sopot Scientific Society (SSA) and Special Advisor at the United Students of Silk-Road Universities Network (USSUN)

This webinar has taken place

Webinar 4: Examples from Africa

24 November 2023

10:00 - 11:30 (UTC, GMT)

11:00 - 12:30 (West Africa Standard Time, UTC+1)

13:00 - 14:30 (East Africa Time, UTC+3)

12:00 - 13:30 (Central Africa Time, UTC+2)

Guest speaker: Professor Tashmin Khamis, Vice Provost (Quality, Teaching and Learning), Aga Khan University

This webinar has taken place

Webinar 5: Examples from South Asia

14 December 2023

08:00 - 09:30 (UTC, GMT)

13:30 - 15:00 (Indian Standard Time, UTC+5.30)

13:00 - 14:30 (Pakistan Standard Time, UTC+5)

Guest speaker: Professor Tashmin Khamis, Vice Provost (Quality, Teaching and Learning), Aga Khan University

This event has now taken place - register below to receive the recording.

Register for the recording
Buff line

Host

Becky Smith

Key Global Associate
,
Advance HE
Becky Smith
Becky Smith is a Key Global Associate at Advance HE. She brings over 25 years of experience of the adult and HE sectors globally and has held senior roles developing effective partnerships in UK and international institutions, the private sector and sector bodies.

Speakers

The series will welcome speakers from across the globe, providing examples of how they have improved their reputational profile.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Surin Maisrikrod

Vice-President for Global Engagement and Learning and Teaching Development
,
Walailak University
Dr Surin Maisrikrod
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Surin Maisrikrod commenced his executive position as a Vice-President for Global Engagement and Learning and Teaching Development at Walailak University in Nakhon Si Thammarat Province, Thailand on 1 July 2016. He plays a pivotal role in reforming the university’s educational system by taking the initiative in the implementation of the Professional Standards Framework.

Professor Ghassan Aouad

Chancellor
,
Abu Dhabi University
Professor Ghassan Aouad
Professor Aouad is the Chancellor of Abu Dhabi University. Before joining ADU in late January 2023, Professor Aouad served as President of Applied Science University in Bahrain for over eight years.

Professor Tashmin Khamis

Vice Provost (Quality, Teaching and Learning)
,
Aga Khan University
Professor Tashmin Khamis
Professor Tashmin Khamis is Vice Provost (Quality, Teaching and Learning) at the Aga Khan University (AKU) and established the AKU’s Network of Quality, Teaching and Learning that supports faculty to enhance teaching and strengthen the student learning experience. Tashmin is a Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (PFHEA).

Professor Dorota Sylwia Majewicz, Ph.D.

Deputy Chairman of the Social Sciences Department at the Sopot Scientific Society (SSA) and Special Advisor at the United Students of Silk-Road Universities Network (USSUN)
Dorota Majewicz
Currently serving as Deputy Chairman of the Social Sciences Department at the Sopot Scientific Society (SSA) and Special Advisor at the United Students of Silk-Road Universities Network (USSUN), Prof. Majewicz is also a journal editor, Scopus peer reviewer, and an organizer of international conferences for young researchers. Additionally, she provides expert reviewers for undergraduate and graduate programs at L.N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University.