Skip to main content
National Teaching Fellowship

Teaching Excellence Awards

Celebrating the demonstrable impact of teaching in higher education We run national and international awards recognising and celebrating teaching excellence on an individual, team and institution-wide basis.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) and the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) showcase the outstanding impact of individuals and teams who teach or support learning in UK higher education, recognising their success and providing a platform to share the learning from their practice. Advance HE member institutions benefit from free access to these awards.

NTFS has been running since 2000 with more than 860 NTFs, over 80 institutions continually engaged. NTFS is seen as the “pinnacle of reward and recognition in teaching and learning”

– 2018 Office for Students report, Austin et al

National Teaching Fellowship (NTF)

National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) have demonstrated through a rigorous and competitive peer reviewed process that they have made a significant impact on both student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. What they have achieved is inspiring and contributes significantly to the sector's efforts to continuously improve learning and teaching for the benefit of students and society.

The award has been running since 2000 and there are now more than 815 National Teaching Fellows, with up to 55 individuals receiving the award each year. On gaining the award, fellows play an ongoing role in enhancing teaching and learning within their institution, the HE sector and further afield. 

Find out more
ntf logo

Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE)

Introduced in 2016, the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) recognises and rewards the key role that teamwork plays in enhancing teaching and learning through collaborative approaches in higher education.

Since 2016, 30 finalists have been recognised, with 12 of them being awarded funding to continue their collaborative work and further their impact. 

Find out more
cate logo

Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA)

The Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA) is the first global award to celebrate and reward institutional commitment to the pursuit of teaching excellence in higher education.  It is open to all public and private sector universities and other providers of higher education across the world. Participants have the opportunity to learn about and share practices with other institutions across the world.

The selection of award holders involves a rigorous two-staged process. External peer reviewers initially assess each institutional application in relation to three ‘domains of excellence’. The reviewers then generate a shortlist from which an independent judging panel select those being recognised each year.  The judging panel are all distinguished international educationalists and currently representing North America, Africa, Australia, Europe and East Asia.

Find out more
GTEA logo