Skip to main content

Global Teaching Excellence Award

Celebrating institution-wide teaching excellence The Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA) was awarded in 2017 and 2018 to an institution in recognition of outstanding approaches to teaching excellence. Entries were welcomed from all providers of higher education, across the world.

The overall winner and winners of five Spotlight Awards were announced at our 2018 ceremony in Edinburgh, 18 July 2018.

The Global Teaching Excellence Award gives entrants the opportunity to stand out from the crowd and demonstrate teaching excellence in their institution – taking part in the award provides the opportunity to:

  • Achieve worldwide sector recognition for your institution
  • Gain an advantage in the competitive global HE landscape
  • Celebrate and connect with fellow institutional leaders of teaching excellence

Phil Baty - Editor

World University Rankings, Times Higher Education


"...the award gives us a great opportunity to showcase excellence in teaching in a different way."

GTEA 2018 Winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Global Teaching Excellence Award finalists

The Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA) recognises and celebrates institution-wide commitment to the pursuit of teaching and learning excellence.  The achievements of the finalists were celebrated at the award ceremony at The Hub, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh on 18 July 2018. We also announced the overall winner and recipients of the five ‘Spotlight’ awards.


  • Charles Sturt University - Australia
  • Edge Hill University - UK
  • ETH Zurich - Switzerland
  • Falmouth University - UK
  • McMaster University - Canada
  • Royal Northern College of Music - UK
  • The Open University - UK
  • Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music & Dance
  • Universidad de Deusto - Spain
  • Universidad Pontificia Comillas - Spain
  • University of Birmingham - UK
  • University of Derby - UK
  • University of Hertfordshire - UK
  • University of Johannesburg - South Africa
  • University of New South Wales - Australia
  • University of Wollongong - Australia
  • Vancouver Island University - Canada

Judging Panel

The independent judging panel for the 2018 Global Teaching Excellence Award is made up of 14 leading educationalists from around the world – Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Switzerland, the UK and the USA.

Svava Bjarnason

Chair of the GTEA Panel

Svava Bjarnason is the former Principal Education Specialist at the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the private sector arm of the World Bank Group. In this capacity, she was a member of the World Bank Education Sector Board from 2007 to 2010.

Prior to joining the IFC in 2007, Svava Bjarnason was the founding Director of the Observatory on Borderless Higher Education and held a dual post as Director of Research and Strategy at the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) based in London. Before joining the ACU in 1998, Svava was a consultant in higher education in the United Kingdom. She has served on numerous expert groups for the OECD and UNESCO.

The rest of the judging panel:

  • Andreas Schleicher
  • Dr Arshad Ahmad
  • Dr Denise Martins de Abreu-e-Lima
  • Dr Ebtissam Al-Madi
  • Duncan Lawson
  • Helen Lomax
  • John Gill
  • Professor Er Meng Hwa
  • Professor Isabella Wai-yin Poon
  • Dr Joe O’Shea
  • Professor Mark Rose
  • Stephan Earnhart
  • Tashmin Khamis