Skip to main content

Two new Gold awards for university departments promoting excellence in gender equality

10 Oct 2019 | Advance HE University of Leeds is first medical school to achieve Gold and the University of York achieves its third departmental Gold.

Advance HE has announced the 103 UK and Ireland award winners of the April 2019 round of the Athena SWAN Charter, which recognises action to address gender inequality within academia and research.

The University of Leeds School of Medicine is the first whole medical school to achieve Gold and the Psychology department at the University of York is the third department at the University to achieve Gold status. Gold is awarded for significant and sustained progression and achievement in promoting gender equality, while addressing challenges particular to the discipline.

The University of East Anglia achieves institutional Silver for the first time. Silver institutional awards recognise a significant record of activity and achievement by the institution in promoting gender equality and in addressing challenges across different disciplines. Twenty-five departments across 17 institutions achieve Silver departmental awards.

Bronze awards are conferred on four institutions, with research institutes Marine Scotland Science and the Francis Crick Institute achieving this for the first time. Among the Bronze award winners are seven departments in Ireland. This brings the total number of Athena SWAN awards in Ireland to 37.

I continue to be inspired by the work undertaken across the sector to advance gender equality, and I pay tribute to everyone who is involved in leading change in their organisations.

“The stories of countless institutional, group and individual accomplishments are told through Athena SWAN award submissions. My thanks go to all those individuals – including our panellists – who are working to realise real, sustainable progress.”

James Greenwood-Lush, Head of Athena SWAN at Advance HE

Read the full list of Athena SWAN award winners (including awards retained at the same level)

UK awards will be presented in a ceremony at the University of Brighton on 17 December 2019. Ireland awards will be presented on 24 October in a ceremony at the Royal College of Surgeons Ireland in Dublin.

Advance HE has commissioned an independent review of the Athena SWAN Charter, led by Professor Julia Buckingham CBE. The review will ensure the Charter is fit for the current and future needs of institutions, individuals and the sector.

Read Advance HE's Equality in higher education: staff and student statistical report 2019

Find out more about Advance HE’s Bespoke Equality Research



Keep up to date - Sign up to Advance HE communications

Our monthly newsletter contains the latest news from Advance HE, updates from around the sector, links to articles sharing knowledge and best practice and information on our services and upcoming events. Don't miss out, sign up to our newsletter now.

Sign up to our enewsletter