Skip to main content

Australian HE institutions recognised for work to eliminate gender bias

23 Sep 2019 | Advance HE Thirteen Australian higher education institutions have been recognised for their efforts to improve gender equity and diversity, receiving Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze Awards as part of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative.

SAGE is a partnership between the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering which is piloting Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter and accreditation framework in Australia.

The awardees, listed in alphabetical order, are:

  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • Federation University
  • Flinders University
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
  • South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute
  • The George Institute for Global Health
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Sydney
  • Western Sydney University

Executive Director, SAGE, Dr Wafa El-Adhami, said this is the second group of the 45-strong SAGE member institutions from the higher education and research (HER) sector to complete the Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze process. She said,

“The Bronze Award recognises an institution’s work to set solid foundations for their journey to transformative change; it sets them on the course to Silver and Gold awards.

“This follows the inaugural accreditation of 15 organisations in December last year, and I extend my sincere congratulations to all awardees for their commitment to gender equity in the higher education and research sector in Australia.”

Gary Loke, Director of Knowledge, Innovation and Delivery at Advance HE said, “Athena SWAN is a positive agent for change. I am delighted these 13 institutions have shown their commitment to furthering gender equity in higher education.

“Globally, higher education is collectively driving upwards its ambitions on equity and inclusion within the context of evolving environments in which universities are operating. Advance HE is focused on continuing to provide the frameworks and support for institutions to continue with this universally important work.”

Bond University, Burnet Institute, James Cook University and the University of Tasmania were also recognised for their progress to date towards Bronze Award accreditation and their continued commitment to SAGE.

Australia is the third jurisdiction after the UK and Ireland to implement the Athena SWAN Charter. Australia has taken a leadership role by piloting the Charter, with countries such as Canada and the United States now following Australia’s example.


Find out more about Athena SWAN, discover our equality, diversity and inclusivity workshops and book now for the EDI Conference 2020 - Courageous conversations and adventurous approaches: creative thinking in tackling inequality, supported by the Scottish Funding Council.

Keep up to date - Sign up to Advance HE communications

Our monthly newsletter contains the latest news from Advance HE, updates from around the sector, links to articles sharing knowledge and best practice and information on our services and upcoming events. Don't miss out, sign up to our newsletter now.

Sign up to our enewsletter