Skip to main content

Outstanding teaching recognised in the 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards for Higher Education

06 Aug 2020 | Advance HE Advance HE is delighted to announce the 56 new National Teaching Fellows and 15 winning teams of the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence on what is the 20th anniversary of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme.

The National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) Scheme celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. The Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) recognises and rewards collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning, and highlights the key role of teamwork in higher education.

The impact of the award winners on the higher education (HE) sector is as evident as ever this year, with a particular drive for impact demonstrated by our winners and applicants in championing equality, diversity and inclusivity within approaches to curriculum design, teaching delivery and collaborative working.


I am sure I am joined by the entire sector in congratulating the 2020 NTFS and CATE awardees. All of the winners should be extremely proud of their achievement of what are prestigious, national teaching awards. Their work epitomises the outstanding commitment to teaching in the UK higher education sector, which this year has been more demanding than ever before. Well done to each and every one of them.

“On the 20th anniversary of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme, we really wanted to celebrate the diversity of the outstanding individuals teaching or supporting teaching, and focused on applicants’ impact on EDI issues in the awards process. We will continue this focus in the years to come as we ensure that the awards reflect the diversity of academics and teachers across the sector.”

Alison Johns, Advance HE CEO

The full list of NTFs and CATE winners is below.

NTF small

National Teaching Fellows 2020

Earle Abrahamson, University of East London

Beatriz Acevedo, Anglia Ruskin University

Zoe Allman, De Montfort University

Senatirajah Ariyaratnam, University of Manchester

Owen Barr, Ulster University

Georgina Blakeley, University of Huddersfield

Pavla Boulton, University of South Wales

Steve Briggs, University of Bedfordshire

Sara Burton, University of Exeter

Jackie Carter, University of Manchester

Catherine Coelho, University of Plymouth

Michael Cole, University of East London

Stephen Corbett, University of Portsmouth

Philip Cosson, Teesside University

Adam Feldman, University of Exeter

Judith Francois, Kingston University

Wendy Garnham, University of Sussex

Emma Gillaspy, University of Central Lancashire

Clare Guilding, Newcastle University

Basel Halak, University of Southampton

Vicki Holmes, University of Reading

Mel Hughes, Bournemouth University

Adelle Hulsmeier, University of Sunderland

Emma Hyde, University of Derby

Richard Jones, Buckinghamshire New University

Iain Keenan, Newcastle University

Bhuvaneswari Krishnamoorthy, University of Manchester

Jenny Louise-Lawrence, University of Hull

Emma Mayhew, University of Reading

Lesley Morrell, University of Hull

Pete Mylon, University of Sheffield

Robin Naylor, University of Warwick

Dawn Theresa Nicholson, Manchester Metropolitan University

James Norman, University of Bristol

Sarah Parkes, Newman University Birmingham

Shushma Patel, London South Bank University

Donna Peberdy, Solent University

Julia Petty, University of Hertfordshire

Sheila Quaid University of Sunderland

Emma Rand, University of York

Simon Rees, Durham University

Fiona Roberts, Robert Gordon University

Rachel Sara, Birmingham City University

Michael Seery, University of Edinburgh

Sian Shaw, Anglia Ruskin University

David Simm, Bath Spa University

Elizabeth Simpson, Glasgow Caledonian University

Lucy Spowart, University of Plymouth

Simon Tate, Newcastle University

Vanessa Taylor, University of Huddersfield

Paul Taylor, University of Leeds

Christopher Trace, University of Surrey

Rachel van Duyvenbode, University of Sheffield

Sarah Westwater-Wood, University of Nottingham

Tracey White, University of Lincoln

Ruth Whitfield, University of Bradford


CATE Winners 2020

Canterbury Christ Church University

Cardiff University

Edge Hill University

Edinburgh Napier University

Glasgow Caledonian University

Keele University

Manchester Metropolitan University

Newcastle University

Queen Mary University of London

Sheffield Hallam University

University of East Anglia

University of Hertfordshire

University of Sheffield

University of the Arts London

University of the West of Scotland


Due to Covid-19, the 2020 winners award ceremony has been postponed. All the 2020 winners will be recognised at a joint awards ceremony in autumn 2021 for winners from this year and next. There will also be an online celebration in the week beginning 27 September.

Advance HE is very proud to run the Teaching Excellence Awards. The NTF scheme has been running since 2000 and there are now over 960 National Teaching Fellows, with normally up to 55 individuals receiving the award each year. On gaining the award, NTFs play an ongoing role in enhancing teaching and learning within their institution, the HE sector and further afield. The Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) were introduced in 2016. In 2018, both NTF and CATE opened to members of staff from all providers of higher education across the four nations of the UK.


Read the profiles of all our 2020 National Teaching Fellows here

Find out more about our 2020 CATE winners here

We feel it is important for voices to be heard to stimulate debate and share good practice. Blogs on our website are the views of the author and don’t necessarily represent those of Advance HE.

Keep up to date - Sign up to Advance HE communications

Our monthly newsletter contains the latest news from Advance HE, updates from around the sector, links to articles sharing knowledge and best practice and information on our services and upcoming events. Don't miss out, sign up to our newsletter now.

Sign up to our enewsletter